Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Atlantic Wall found in Suffolk

Discussion in 'WWII Today' started by GRW, May 22, 2009.

1. GRW

GRW Pillboxologist WW2|ORG Editor

As most of you probably know, prior to D-Day a number of Atlantic Wall mock-ups were constructed across britain to aid training; as well as my local one at Sheriffmuir in Stirlingshire, there's one in Surrey and another at the Castlemartin ranges in Wales.
    Turns out that someone's just discovered another possible one in Suffolk: this is an email sent to Chris Shepheard, who runs a website on the Surrey one.

"Dear Chris,

I am a volunteer researcher for Orford Museum (Suffolk) and contacting
    you about your web site relating to the Atlantic Wall in Surrey.

Orford Museum is a registered charity and has permanent display
    exhibits in Orford Castle which is operated by English Heritage.

In October last year we held a very successful two day
    exhibition in Orford Town Hall to celebrate the 60th anniversary of
    the release of the villages of Sudbourne and Iken back to the residents
    following their requisition by the Army as a battle training area by the 79th
    Armoured Division under Major-General Sir Percy “Hobo” Hobart. During the
    course of the event and since then further information has been forthcoming
    about events and items that relate to the period between 1942 and 1948.

Following information from a local resident I attended a
    location in the village of Sudbourne with our curator and the landowner where
    we are now certain we have discovered a section of the missing concrete
    Atlantic Wall. The present section of wall, built into a bank separating two
    fields, is 22 metres long and eight feet high.

I have been in contact with the Tank Museum and obtained
    from them a copy of their photograph reference No. 0359/A/4 showing a Churchill
    Double Onion placing a charge against a wall. This photograph has been