Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Enquiring about a conchie (please don't beat me up!)

Discussion in '☆☆ New Recruits ☆☆' started by Meg Davidson, May 5, 2011.

Tags:
  1. Meg Davidson

Meg Davidson recruit

I am a writer at present engaged on a biography of a man born in London in 1911. I interviewed him in his 90s but he has since died leaving many unanswered questions.

Despite not being a Quaker he was accepted into the Friends Ambulance Unit as a conscientious objector in 1940 and after initial training near Birmingham spent the rest of the war at Gloucester Royal Infirmary. I want to confirm what he told me about his experiences there - some of it doesn't square with a history of the FAU by A. Tegla Davies that I found online.

Also, he told me he was to have trained for an Emergency Medical Unit bound for Syria (I understood it would have been a field hospital) but was rejected on medical grounds. He said that the ship he would have been on was torpedoed and sunk in the Mediterranean with no survivors and I want to verify this - but he couldn't tell me the name of the ship.

How do I go about investigating this?:confused:

For a start, it would help to know exactly an EMU is and how many men it would typically involve. I think the FAU usually operated in teams of ten. Would an FAU team be part of a larger EMU? Would the ship have carried troops as well as medical personnel? Would they be likely to embark at Bristol (if starting from Gloucester) and where would they disembark?

So many questions ... Your help would be much appreciated! I have put my questions here because I can't find a more appropriate thread.

Meg

2. belasar

belasar Court Jester