Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Fallschirmjager ever used on Russian front?

Discussion in 'Eastern Europe' started by Generalfeldmarschall Matthew Bluhm, Sep 5, 2006.

1. Generalfeldmarschall Matthew Bluhm

Generalfeldmarschall Matthew Bluhm Member

Howdy ya'll ;) I'm new in these here parts, been signed up a little while just havn't posted much.

To get on with my question though, were any Fallschirmjager units used on the Russian front throughout the war at anytime? I know after the disaster at Crete (even though they won) Hitler hesitated to use them again (in my opinion one of his largest blunders) and that they were mostly only ground troops after that seeing action in italy, the normandy campaign, and the Ardennes offensive. But were they ever either dropped or used on foot in Barbarosa or any other operation during the war in Russia?

Thanks much, Matthew

P.s, i've been looking for a site like this forever, truly awesome [​IMG]

2. Sloniksp

Sloniksp Ставка

Matthew,

The answer to your question is yes they did fight in Russia with the XXXIX panzer corps I believe but double check.

3. Kai-Petri

Kai-Petri Kenraali

4. Sloniksp

Sloniksp Ставка

good links kai!!

5. Sloniksp

Sloniksp Ставка

hey how did u gus het a pic were your signature is???

6. Generalfeldmarschall Matthew Bluhm

Generalfeldmarschall Matthew Bluhm Member

Thanks for the info guys [​IMG] very helpful!

and Sloniksp, it's in your profile options, theres also a thread that explains it in the first forum.

7. Sloniksp

Sloniksp Ставка

Thanks

8. von Poop

von Poop Waspish

I thought the FJ fought on every German front? (and with a remarkably clean/honourable record).
    Cheers,
    Adam

9. Stevin

Stevin Ace