Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Finding an american soldier by his dog tag

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by frenchfinder, Oct 30, 2009.

1. frenchfinder

frenchfinder Member

Hi everybody !

I introduce myself: i am a french student of 22 years old, interesting on history and WW2 of course, but i come there for a special research

A part of my family comes from Normandy and during the liberation an american soldier gave my grand-mother his dog tag. So my grand-mother kept it, but she never wonder whom it belonged. But with my familiy we made some research. We asked the person working there on the american cimetery of Colleville-sur-mer, and with the data on her computer she told us only that he was not dead in Europe during the war. It is only that i know of him.

So i want to know if we can have access of the veteran data. I didn't succeed to find it on internet. So, finding a data where a can easily find informations from what i know ( name, first name, ect...).

I want to say also that my request hasn't financial goals. I don't want to sell it. It belongs to my family, it is a record of this war and of the liberation of my country. I just want to make this soldier less "anonymous" for us.

I'm waiting for your help, and i excuse me for the quality of my english, i don't use it very often.

Bye !

2. kerrd5

kerrd5 Ace

dgmitchell likes this.
  3. Slipdigit

Slipdigit Good Ol' Boy Staff Member WW2|ORG Editor

Frenchfinder,

Don't apologize for your English, it is quite alright. If you have problems finding the correct English word, type it out in French, we have some excellent French speakers who can translate.

Dave gave you a good start. If you know anymore about the man, such as his unit, give us that and we might can help you contact any unit associations.

We have helped to find soldiers who left personal belongings in Europe, I wish you success in this endeavor.