Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Hello from a New Recruit - let the research and planning commence

Discussion in '☆☆ New Recruits ☆☆' started by Herman90, Jun 11, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Herman90

Herman90 New Member

Hi Everyone,

I've stumbled across the forum as I've begun my research for my 2019 Operation Personal Commemoration plans. I'm fairly new to military history with WW2 being the period that both fascinates and humbles me the most.

A few years ago I passed through Arromanches with some pals during a European motorcycling holiday. I wish I could have spent time there to learn and "feel" the history but our schedule didn't allow it. Then more recently, my son bought me the boxed set of Band of Brothers and this rekindled my resolve to find out more about the reality of the war in Europe and develop a better knowledge.

My late Uncle was highly decorated having served in several theatres in Europe and Africa and will soon be paying a visit to my Aunt to try discover more about his service and experiences.

I wish to mark next year, the 75th anniversary of the D Day landings, by travelling in my Land Rover across the channel, to see the beaches, the battlefields, the memorials, the cemeteries, the museums and follow the path of the breakout into Germany. This could be something like a 2 week tour but as yet I don't know where to visit or allocate my time. Is this a realistic timescale? I'll probably want to spend a little time on home soil too, to visit significant venues where planning and preparations for the landings took place. As the plan comes together i'll share my thoughts. Is anyone else thinking of doing something similar?

If anyone has any "must sees/must do's" they can recommend, I would really appreciate your suggestions.

In the meantime, I'm going to immerse myself into the history and background and learn the basics.

I look forward to getting to know as many fellow forum members as I can here.