Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

help 5th btn blackwatch france

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by puddlechucker, Feb 18, 2008.

1. puddlechucker

puddlechucker recruit

Hello all I am new to this so I hope I am in the right place.
    I am researching my wifes family and found her uncle Thomas Jenkinson private 14429835 died in France ON 11/6/1944 he served in the Blackwatch 5th btn. I believe that they landed on Juno beach, and I would like to gain more information if possible as to any of their movements around the date of his death.
    any help would be appreciated

thanks in advance

Terry Damen

2. B-17engineer

B-17engineer Member

3. puddlechucker

puddlechucker recruit

Sorry no town name he is buried in Ranville war cemetery if that helps
    thanks for the links

terry

4. von Poop

von Poop Waspish

Name:JENKINSON, THOMAS
    Initials:T
    Nationality:United Kingdom
    Regiment/Service:Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)
    Unit Text:5th Bn.
    Date of Death:11/06/1944
    Service No:14429835
    Additional information:Son of John and Annie Jenkinson, of Halsall, Lancashire.
    Casualty Type:Commonwealth War DeadGrave/Memorial Reference:VA. M. 4.
    Cemetery:RANVILLE WAR CEMETERY

The 5th battalion were heavily engaged around Breville at that time as part of the 51st Highland Division. This entry from the 5th Para Brigade War diary may have some relevance, I can't yet find an online war diary of the 5th Black Watch. Though there are those that visit here that I suspect have a Regimental history.
    Brigade Headquarters, 5th Parachute Brigade
    And this:
    Lieutenant-Colonel Terence Otway
    Good luck,
    Adam.

5. Jaeger

Jaeger Ace