Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Help with ID of brass knuckles

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by bsweeney, Feb 23, 2008.

1. bsweeney

bsweeney Member

I found this cleaning a relatives basement is it WW11?????

Attached Files:

2. C.Evans

C.Evans Expert

I can't say anything for fact and is only an opinion but, it could be either WWI or WWII in issue. Im not an expert on anything and can only give an opinion on items that I may or may not have in my collection. Also, I collect about 99% Imperial or WWII German Militaria.

3. Martin Bull

Martin Bull Acting Wg. Cdr

If it has no markings, then it's almost impossible to tell. They were hardly ever 'issued' as such in both wars - in WW1 they were often privately-purchased for use in trench-fighting.

4. bsweeney

bsweeney Member

Thanks to both....yes they were not ever issued and I am told these are WW1 era.

5. JCFalkenbergIII

JCFalkenbergIII Expert

Brass Knuckles

Brass Knuckles [In the generic grouping of "Knuckledusters."] have a long and bloody history in both Europe and The United States. Probably a lot of other places as well. Carrying them on your person in virtually any State in this Country would amount to an instant arrest if searched. You would be very lucky to get away with a confiscation and a verbal warning…very lucky.
    In my youth, there were many people in the neighborhood and in Baltimore City that packed a pair of "Knucks." They are sold to this day in the same places they were in my youth. Flea Markets all around the area have "Brass Paperweights." Some of them are supplied with a tiny little piece of threaded metal that screws into a matching hole so they can be picked up easily off of a stack of papers on your desk. Makes them a real cool paperweight in fact! They are neat and a great conversation piece.