Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Hey There

Discussion in '☆☆ New Recruits ☆☆' started by Nailbender, Jul 10, 2007.

1. Nailbender

Nailbender Member

Well I am not much on introductions but will give it a shot. I guess I am getting close to being a senior citizen. My working days were that of a carpenter in the building trades and a oiler in the Operating Engineers. I now find myself in front of this thing doing research mostly. Folks around here have gotten word that I can find things out about mostly anything ( I do not believe this ) and now here they come " What is this? , Where did my family come from? , How much is this worth? etc. " I do enjoy it but it does get overwelming at times.

I am recently widowed after 40 years with the Light of my life. Have 4 children, somewhere around 7 grandchilds. I am a Veteran, U.S.Army, Quartermaster. I have the deepest respect for those that went into war and heartfelt love for those that gave their lives for their Country.

I have a renewed interest in WW2. It started a little over a month ago when a neighbor asked me to come over. I did. He gave me this old trunk and told me to sell all this "crap" for him. I took it home and in the trunk is his Uncle's WW2 items. He was in the 101st Airborne / 1st Allied Airborne. Anywho I start out researching for values of the different items. Looked at the different sell-buy sites and then into forums. I had no idea of all the Military forums. I have everything about figured out but 1 thing and I will ask about this later.