Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Historical fiction, direction needed

Discussion in 'Fiction' started by Ali-Shobbar, Feb 11, 2013.

Tags:
  1. Ali-Shobbar

Ali-Shobbar Member

Hello people!
    My name is Ali and I am a newbie.
    I am a comic artist engaged in a project for a graphic Novel about a WW2 - WW1, from the German troop's perspective ( at least a German soldier) .
    It's a Historical fiction,
    But I have to get the battles, troops, divisions, what happened and where, all right to the best extent.

Background Information: Basically the story revolves around a German guy who was born in 1900, participated in Verdun and became a Sniper, in WWII he was called into action again to serve his father land.. to his dread.
    The story begins somewhere in the 1941 or 1942 on the eastern front. In conclusion of a vicious engagement, the story will fall into flashbacks to his early times before Verdun. then progress again until his present time in WWII.
    okay, here's the established points that the story is built on:

1- the story begins as Russian bombardment stops in preparation for a attack/counter attack to push the German's back ( the main character's regiment takes the main impact).
    2- the story start in the ruins of some Russian city (where? I've no idea yet where to place him)
    3- Russian T-34s is used in the attack/counter attack
    4- the main character is a decorated a knight's cross.
    5- He is a sniper, of some significant rank (which rank?)

The problem's I am facing:

I have nooo idea where to place my lead character, I thought I'd place him in the 3rd Gebirgsjäger, which happened to fight on the eastern front from as early as 1940.
    But which Regiment?