Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

In the past little while I have read more than several books onn the Bulge.......

Discussion in 'The Tanks of World War 2' started by gtblackwell, Nov 25, 2017.

1. gtblackwell

gtblackwell Member Emeritus

............of the dozens out there. Many mentioned both Allied and Axis using AAA of 37-40mm in anti-vehicle as well as personnel roles.. Given the low cloud cover and element of surprise, it makes sense. I assume most if not nearly all such rounds were HE in the Ardenne. Unlike aircraft in anti-tank roles using AP or cored shells. My question is what effect would result in shooting at the various tanks and tank destroyers employed by both sides. I am a novice at tank penetrations by nonconventional ammunition but imagine AAA scant. But would a 37/40mm seriously damage a modern tank of 1944 by perhaps blinding it, jamming turrets, damaging tracts or suspension or any other parts and pieces? The lifetime of a 37/40mm would seem to be short facing numerous adversaries, just like an anti-tank gun. Or could a true tank, medium or up , be penetrated?

I read a rather vivid description of Hitler Jugend manning a quad 20mm and using it on truck born infantry, made me squirm just reading, until a Churchill got it. The scene in SPR between the single 20mm and infantry was equally vivid.

My main interest is between the 37/40 and MBTs and potential ability to disable and/or destroy.. I am aware of planes doing so but am thinking of a trajectory of ground combat of the Ardenne

Gaines

2. RichTO90

RichTO90 Well-Known Member