Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Is the bugle the hardest brass instrument to play?

Discussion in 'The Members Lounge' started by the_diego, Dec 12, 2021.

1. the_diego

the_diego Active Member

I'm not a musician, but I can see that the bugle is the most rudimentary of all brass wind instruments; without any valve regulator or any device to alter pitch. It's all down to the player's embrouchure. I tinkered with one as a kid and wasn't even able to deliver a note. Although my elder brother, being stronger built, managed "Taps" to the delight of our father.

2. Slipdigit

Slipdigit Good Ol' Boy Staff Member WW2|ORG Editor

I don't know how hard it is to play, but I have read that it had a rather small range of notes. Maybe not even a full octave.

3. harolds

harolds Member

The bugle is fairly easy to play. It has no keys or slides. That means it only has a certain range of notes, these are determined by your lip armature. (I played trumpets and baritone in H.S. and was in my university ROTC drum and bugle corps-or "dumb and bungle corps, as we used to call it.) ;)

Slipdigit likes this.
  4. the_diego

the_diego Active Member

Aha! A bugler! Thanks for the reply.

5. R Leonard

R Leonard Member

I've an old cavalry bugle, without taking it down from its shelf upstairs, "Chicago Depot 1918" stamped on it. My father acquired it somewhere along the line, he could sound the Army calls of his youth (he grew up in the Army, born in Douglas AZ while his father was off chasing Pancho Villa and his father retired a Colonel in 1934 - not bad for a guy who retired a Rear Admiral). I was never much good at it, but, oh, say, 25 years ago or so, when it was time for the children to start for home from their neighborhood adventures in the late summer afternoons, I would step outside and sound the only call I could make with any real success, appropriately, "recall", twice as it should be done.