Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Just for fun...

Discussion in 'Non-fiction' started by brndirt1, Aug 26, 2010.

1. brndirt1

brndirt1 Saddle Tramp

and because somebody else sort of "asked" for one of my short stories that I am putting together for my sons, I will offer for your amusement (and I mean that in every sense); this one concerning two of my "Jeep" stories:

When I was an eleven year-old know it all (going on twelve) in 1961, shortly after the birth of my second brother, I had been driving around on the farm for about three years with various vehicles, motorcycles, pick-ups, trucks, etc.. My father also had a '49 Willys CJ-A2 that he used for spraying the crops, and other strange things (it had a PTO), and he had allowed me to drive it a number of times both around the farm and over to visit my older cousin, Mike (about ten or twelve miles, on cross-country back roads).

On this particular occasion, my mother had gone off to display the "new arrival" (my youngest little brother) in our family at both her sister (Seattle, WA), and her mother's place (Flathead Lake, MT), and have other adults around to give her a hand with my other siblings, one sister, one brother.

Father had returned to the "south" farm to catch up on the work that had gone begging while he attended the birth of his newest son. This left me to watch over myself, and to keep up on the fallow work at the "home-place" farm on the Montana hi-line.