Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Nazi Architecture, Albert Speer and Hitler's Passion for Architecture

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by flibblebibble, Nov 5, 2008.

Tags:
  1. flibblebibble

flibblebibble recruit

Hello one and all.

I've joined these forums because i thought it could help to get some expert advice on a project i'm doing.

I'm an English Architecture student and for my history assignment, have decided to report on the Architecture of the Nazi regime. Firstly i'd like to state that i in no way agree with the regimes' values, i just have an interest in how the Nazi's used Architecture as propaganda and symbols of power.

My knowledge of WWII is fairly limited though i am learning more by the day.

I'd be interested in any points people have to offer, but in particular i'm looking for;
    • Explaination of the timeline of construction and reasons for construction
    • What wasn't built
    • The bunker systems
    • Hitler's interest in Architecture
    • Albert Speer
    • any links or pictures that could be of use

I have a loan copy of 'Albert Speer - inside the Third Reich'. I also understand the links with Roman and Greek Architecture and political theory, and also know that the styles were also inspired by neoclassicism and Art Deco.

Any help would be much appreciated.

'Peace is not the absence of conflict but the presence of creative alternatives for responding to conflict - alternatives to passive or aggressive responses, alternatives to violence.' Dorothy Thompson

2. Mussolini

Mussolini Gaming Guru WW2|ORG Editor

Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe Hitlers interest in Architecture was two fold.