Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

New Member Here Going By The Name of xockram1

Discussion in '☆☆ New Recruits ☆☆' started by xockram1, Mar 26, 2019.

1. xockram1

xockram1 New Member

Newbie here as well. Great Uncle died in WWII. We always heard he died in India so my searches were concentrated to Burma. Posted his info on Ancestry along with a couple of photo's. I was contacted by a historian, requesting more pictures, and info for a war memorial they had gotten funding for in Washington County, Tennessee. The gentleman was also affiliated with "Honor Flight" which takes Veterans to their memorial site up in DC. He did some research, and found out that my uncle actually died in Saint Lucia, in the Indies. I have tried to find out more about his service, and found that there was an airfield there called Beane field. Not sure what they did there, or specifically how he died. His record says DOW, which means died of wounds, correct? My Grandfather only remembered that when the reps explained things that they said something blew up and that there was a whole bunch of casualties at one time. I can find nothing anywhere on any such explosion on or near his date of death. Any exhaustive research on Beane field and the activities, and units there would be most appreciated. My Uncles name was Howard John Lockner. Thanks to all.

Otto and Slipdigit like this.
  2. lwd

lwd Ace

Welcome aboard. There's some people here that are really good at helping find things like that. They should be along shortly. If not post a query in one of the appropriate sub forums. Helps if you give service and country as we are an international forum.

3. xockram1

xockram1 New Member

Thanks. He was Army, Saint Lucia is in the West Indies, in the Carribean. This is all I know: http://www.da-academy.org/uploads/9/2/0/3/92034718/stlucia_ww2.pdf

4. LRusso216

LRusso216 Graybeard Staff Member

[​IMG]