Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

PETITION TO GET A WAR HERO BOB MCGOWAN HIS FUEL ALLOWANCE

Discussion in 'WWII Today' started by kronos251, Nov 24, 2009.

Tags:
  1. kronos251

kronos251 recruit

Hello to you all, I am an administrator of a Facebook group for this hero... WE NEED YOUR HELP. Please spread the word and sign these short petition forms for a 94-year-old war veteran to get his fuel allowance (money for heating his apartment).

I will come back to post updates regularly.

CAMPAIGN TO GET A WAR HERO BOB MCGOWAN HIS FUEL ALLOWANCE

NOVEMBER 11, 2009

War hero, 94, vows to hand back medals to British PM Gordon Brown after being denied winter fuel allowance

[​IMG]
    Battle: Bob McGowan, wearing his five medals on his coat while indoors, is fighting Whitehall for a £300 allowance

A 94-year-old war hero today pledged to hand back his medals after the Government refused to give him his winter fuel allowance.

Bob McGowan was told he could not claim the £300 subsidy because he moved into his flat just one day too late to qualify.

Despite his age and the six years he spent fighting for his country across Europe, Asia and Africa, the Pension Service said it could not show flexibility.

Mr McGowan, of Portsmouth, has been waging a battle of principle with Whitehall ever since he was turned down for the fuel support in 2007.

He wants an apology from Gordon Brown and says if it is not forthcoming he will post his five medals to 10 Downing Street.

Mr McGowan, who won the Burma Star, the Africa Star, the War Medal 1939 to 1945, the 1939-1945 Star and the Defence Medal following 2,133 days on active duty overseas, said: ‘I think it’s disgusting.

‘It seems I’ve got to bow down over one solitary day, when I did six years overseas.

‘You’d think they would make allowances but they keep saying external factors won’t be considered under any circumstances.