Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Post-WWII European Rations

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by Heather Dixon, Mar 8, 2018.

1. Heather Dixon

Heather Dixon New Member

Hi guys! I'm hoping you can help me find more information on the subject of German civilian rations during the Allied occupation. (1945-47-ish)

I'm looking for information mostly on the particular items they had to eat, and how much. (Particularly children.) In articles online (The most useful being wikipedia Food in occupied Germany - Wikipedia) I know that adults only had 1,000-1200 calories a day, but none of them go into detail on what exact foods they had, or what the children were allowed. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

(Thanks for being patient with me if this is a dumb question! I'm still kinda new to this.)

2. OpanaPointer

OpanaPointer I Point at Opana Staff Member WW2|ORG Editor

3. lwd

lwd Ace

The following may be of some use (I haven't looked at them in much detail though):
    Public Health Work in the British Occupation Zone - The Perils of Peace - NCBI Bookshelf

Modern Hungers

This one has a table that lists calories for children by age:
    Logistics Matters and the U.S. Army in Occupied Germany, 1945-1949

This one deals with the Soviet zone but not sure of the detai:
    The Soviet Occupation of Germany

This one concentrates on the British zone:
    https://www.societies.ncl.ac.uk/pgfnewcastle/files/2015/05/Easingwood-Our-Daily-Bread.pdf

Apologies if some of the ones below are duplicates. You are probably aware of it but there's been a tendency of some of the "revisionist" to try and make a political issue of this topic so beware of political agendas:

"What it means to be malnourished": Food and Hunger in the Shaping of Postwar German Identities, 1945-1949 - ProQuest

https://www.ghi-dc.org/fileadmin/user_upload/GHI_Washington/Publications/Bulletin48/bu_48_059.pdf