Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Private Modelling Designs

Discussion in 'World War 2 Hobbies' started by Ricky, May 24, 2005.

1. Ricky

Ricky New Member

via TanksinWW2
    I think we should see these plans... :wink:

2. Oli

Oli New Member

via TanksinWW2
    Please, professionals call them "drawings", only cheap spy novels, tabloid newspapers and TV documentaries call them plans. Likewise "blueprints", I've been in engineering design for 30+ years and only ever seen ONE genuine blue print....
    Oli

3. Ricky

Ricky New Member

via TanksinWW2
    But I'm not a professional... :grin:
    I too designed the 'best ever' fighter plane when in school. However, I somehow never got around to submitting it to BaE

4. Oli

Oli New Member

via TanksinWW2
    Don't know if you've come across it yet, but Whatifmodelers.com is well worth a look. They're interested mainly in aircraft, although I posted some of my tanks there (also in the modelling section here under "some of my tanks" strangely enough"). They have everything from seriously good modellers to guys who just post "schoolboy" aeroplane ideas, but they do a fair bit of digging out real-world "what if ideas" as well.
    I think they do it for two reasons.
    1) Anybody with any brains who has built a model must have thought at , some time, "what would happen if they had this (whatever) on it?" and they build it.
    2) to really piss off the JMNs (Joyless Modelling Nazis = obsessive rivet-counter types) at Telford IPMS open day when they put their models on display next to the tedious I've-been-researching-this-subject-for-forty-years-and-still-can't-find-out-if-pilot-had-dark-grey-or-mid-grey-handkerchiefs. Way to go guys.
    Designed any tanks? That'd be a topic but we'd have to make it serious one, see existing design topic, no X-Box etc
    Oli

5. Ricky

Ricky New Member

via TanksinWW2
  6. Oli

Oli New Member

via TanksinWW2