Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

The Semper Fi Thread

Discussion in 'Hearts of Iron' started by Mussolini, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Paulverisor64

    Paulverisor64 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    My invasion of Greece went fairly well except for a few details. I stationed my quicker units in Italy's port and the top part of Greece.

    My units in Italy had a breakthrough which Greece could not stop. The upper units on the other hand were somewhat quagmired.

    Here are the things that went bad.
    1) any engagement against Greece forts (for the most part this was ignored)
    2) Italy and Germany joined the fracus and appeared to be on their own land grab.
    3) USSR decided they had to have my border territories (which is scripted) I almost would have preferred fighting it out with the giant.
    4) A couple revolts which territories turned to the rebels (1st time I've run into this)
    5) Game crashed in the middle of it all

    I did get my armor and infantry to the doorstep of Greece's capital before I lost the game to the crash. I was close to getting all the IC but it did appear German/Italy gains swiss cheesed my territory grab.
     
  2. mikebatzel

    mikebatzel Dreadnaught

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    405
    I finally got I.C.E. to take last night. I know, I'm a bit behind the 8 ball here. Looks good so far, but I only had enough time to play through a single month. Is there a new checksum since they released 2.03b? Mine does not match what you listed above, though I didn't write it down. Perhaps a newer version of I.C.E.? Paradox lists it's compatable now with only 2.03c (Perhaps what was meant was now compatable with), but I didn't download c (still just a beta), only b
     
  3. Mussolini

    Mussolini Gaming Guru WW2|ORG Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Messages:
    5,719
    Likes Received:
    556
    Location:
    Festung Colorado
    Ah, yes, looks like ICE has been updated after an apparent recent HOI 3 patch. What is the checksum you are getting? I will update ICE and see what I get (not in my current game folder though, don't want to ruin my game).
     
  4. Anderan

    Anderan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think ICE is only updated to 2.03b, though it keeps crashing on me.
     
  5. Mussolini

    Mussolini Gaming Guru WW2|ORG Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Messages:
    5,719
    Likes Received:
    556
    Location:
    Festung Colorado
    Nope, ICE is updated again. I checked the forum its hosted on and its now a 2.1.6 version instead of 2.1.5.
     
  6. mikebatzel

    mikebatzel Dreadnaught

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    405
    I just checked and my checksum is now DEJD
     
  7. Anderan

    Anderan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    4
  8. Paulverisor64

    Paulverisor64 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is exactly the experience I am getting. Yesterday I was excited to get to Barbarosa from the Romanians perspective. I was doing very poorly but was very impressed how the computer exploited the weakness in my line. The Russians were almost at my capitol's doorstep when my computer crashed. That represented several hours of gameplay down the tubes.

    Learning from my thrashing I went to a game save several months prior to Barbarosa. I almost had my line in place when the game crashed again.

    Reluctantly I replayed the entire sequence of setting up my line over again. My game save was to be at the point where my line was set. I only had 1 HQ unit not settled and the game crashed.

    I have been noticing all along the game crashes. I don't know if this is ICE, Semper Fi or even the core game related. All I know is it is very annoying. There have also been other random graphic related issues. Sometimes the event dropdown box is transparent. Sometimes my HQ's don't register their officer's name. Sometimes I can not pick specific units.

    I am at Semper Fi 2.03B. I haven't installed ICE patch 1.05 or 1.06 yet, are these stability related patches?

    This game is very engrossing but the bugs are a pain in the butt.
     
  9. Mussolini

    Mussolini Gaming Guru WW2|ORG Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Messages:
    5,719
    Likes Received:
    556
    Location:
    Festung Colorado
    I am not experiencing any of the patches though haven't updated with the latest ICE. The patches stabilize the bugs.

    2.03b patch is not for ICE, it is for semper-fi. You need to have installed it before you install the ICE mod. Always make duplicate game folders, so that its easy to install a patch and then the mod over it again (it always says use a fresh install, never install it over an older version).
     
  10. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266
    I have no problem with my Semper fi, Ice mod either.

    If you can't solve the crashing issues you can just adjust your save points to be automatically done every month, you won't save it all but you won't have to do it all.
     
  11. Paulverisor64

    Paulverisor64 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did have the auto save points but somehow this became disabled.

    In seeing that the ICE version I have should work I updated my graphics driver which is a couple dot releases back. I have a newer ATI card which sometimes is a bit frustrating. I did play up to the save point I wanted with no quirks; I'm crossing my fingers that things may be better.
     
  12. JTF-2

    JTF-2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Ottawa Valley
    So I'am back after being away for awhile!!!

    What does everyone think of the new patch for semperfi? 2.04d is the newest version I believe?
     
  13. Anderan

    Anderan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    4
    2.04d is the latest, I havn't downloaded it yet though.
     
  14. JTF-2

    JTF-2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Ottawa Valley
    Where do you get you patch from? Paradox or somewhere else?
     
  15. SOAR21

    SOAR21 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    43
    hey guys, don't know how active everyone is, but i've been away because my other comp, which i spend all of my time on, can't view this site. it's blocked by my browser due to virus problems, which i know don't exist.

    annywaysss...i'm here because i want to play semper fi again. i don't know if any of y'all still play but i'd be down for a game or two. just looking around, and i'm running the ICE mod. however, my graphics card is completely fried for the moment, but i'll be back on and running within the week.
     

Share This Page