Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Tracing the WWII battle route of the 146th Engineer Combat Batallion

Discussion in 'WWII General' started by garyrnorth, Mar 8, 2019.

1. garyrnorth

garyrnorth New Member

Good Morning,
    I am a Vietnam era Vet, army MP patrol supervisor.
    My uncle was part of the WWII 146th Engineer Combat Batallion. and I am trying to trace his movements through the war.
    He would never talk about it.
    I know he landed at Normandy on D-Day where he received the Bronze Star and a Purple Heart.
    There is lots of talk online about the 146th being involved in the Battle of the Bulge...The Ardannes ??
    But that is about as far as I can find anything.
    From the war movies it appears the Engineers were very much in the heat of everything! ??
    He received another Purple heart in 1945 I believe but that is as much as I can find.
    Surely someone has mapped different divisions movements through the war.
    Any help would be very much appreciated.
    and a big thank you to all who served!!!

2. RichTO90

RichTO90 Well-Known Member

The 146th Engineer Combat Battalion was attached to the 1171st Engineer Combat Group, V Corps in England prior to D-Day. They were tapped, along with the 299th Engineer Combat Battalion to provide personnel for the Special Engineer Task Force, formed in March-April 1944 to deal with the shoreline obstacle belt created by the German in early 1944. On OMAHA they formed joint Army-Navy demolition teams with nineteen Naval Combat Demolition Units. Those teams suffered probably the heaviest casualties of any units on D-Day. There are a large number of online resources for the 146th:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct...th%20ECB.pdf&usg=AOvVaw3wH5exgvA78Ax-bOXV9KNI

146th Engineer Combat Battalion.