Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Vets of the Nam

Discussion in 'Non-World War 2 History' started by Che_Guevara, Nov 30, 2005.

1. Che_Guevara

Che_Guevara New Member

via TanksinWW2
    hmm, are some users veterans of the war in vietnam ?
    It would be nice to hear, somethin´ about your units, about your experiences, your storys and your point of view, if you don´t want to talk about it I can understand that as well.

Regards,
    Che.

2. Grieg

Grieg New Member

via TanksinWW2
    Che,
    My involvement was rather minimal. I enlisted in 1970 and by the time I finished training in 1971 I was just in time to assist in pulling out Marine helicopter units( I was a helicopter Crewchief/gunner) that were in the process of withdrawing under the Vietnamization program. Naturally I heard much first hand information from those that had done full tours during the heat of the Tet offensive and earlier events so I have some knowledge of the war beyond my personal involvement.
    There have been several previous threads dealing with some aspects of that conflict.

3. Zhukov_2005

Zhukov_2005 New Member

via TanksinWW2
    Nevertheless, anyone who enlisted and fought in that war is a hero, to me anyways.

4. Grieg

Grieg New Member

via TanksinWW2
    zhukov wrote:

Needless to say it was rather more controversial in those days.
    Thank you for the kind words.

5. Che_Guevara

Che_Guevara New Member

via TanksinWW2
    Hey,
    Grieg you´re a hero, no doubt!

It would be interessting of which type your helicopter was and if you have some pics of your time in the Nam ?

Best wishes,
    Che.

6. Roel

Roel New Member

via TanksinWW2
    Why?

I'm sorry if this question offends anyone but I would really like to hear an answer to it from Che or Zhukov. Why would Grieg be a hero simply because he fought in the Vietnam War, regardless of what our opinions about that war may be?