Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Introduction and info request

Discussion in 'Other Militaria' started by LippyP, Aug 26, 2008.

1. LippyP

LippyP Member

Hi, just wanted to introduce myself, I've been collecting WWII militaria for a few years now although I've had bits and pieces since I was a kid, I guess I grew up on a diet of Airfix models and commando comics so it blossomed from there. My first real exciting find as a kid was a .30 cal shell case found on Utah beach on holiday. I could kick myself for the stuff I owned and got rid of over the years, back in the days when most army surplus and junk shops had WWII battledress items for literally a couple of quid.

The bug bit again a few years back and I've been slowly collecting, for me the joy is in discovering stuff rather than just going out and buying it from a dealer. I'm fortunate to have a second home in France now so I get some great opportunities to pick stuff up at flea markets etc although again I've missed stuff through lack of knowledge and could have kicked myself afterwards when I looking stuff up to notice something I passed over. I guess its all a learning curve.

I've just got back with a couple of bits and bobs, a decent WWII era French Adrian helmet complete with Khaki paint and an unidentified case for something and this is where I need your help.