Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

[NOOB]Help me learn this game please!

Discussion in 'Hearts of Iron' started by madmenyo, Jan 3, 2009.

Tags:
  1. SOAR21

    SOAR21 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    43
    oh thanks lol, my greatest weakness is my inability to use effective air power in HoI, and often I leave my airfields way behind my ground troops before I realize that I am not using any air units. As a result, i also leave my air doctrine usually untouched until the middle of a war, when I realize, my air units are dying...

    It just seems to me the air power in HoI maybe isn't all what it might have been in WW2. Idk, could be I had a misconception about real air effectiveness, but even when I direct almost six or seven bombardment squadrons to missions, i see no tangible effects on the ground.

    Airborne, however, is one of my loves, and now I may know how to exploit it. Thanks
     
  2. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266

    Don't underestimate the importance or effectiveness of the Air powers in HOI, they can both cripple your industry and certainly destroy all the infrasture stopping the movement of the enemy troops. I


    I however only really use the interdiction missions, this causes the enemies that they engage to lose 'organization' allowing my troops to push forward faster without a lengthy battle without taking all of my organization.


    I have found that the 'Ground Support' missions work best while combined with an armored assault, while the missions that destroy the infrastructure (I cant remember the name) are best used when you are not going to attack, because yes it does stop the enemy moving, but it also stops you from attacking quickly through those areas.


    The Air superiority missions are also crucial with the fighters for stopping the enemy from damaging your forces, I have found in this it is best to mix up the fighter units, interceptors (in case they meet any bombers, and fighters to take on the enemy fighter.).


    Remember to also attach a fighter squadron to the bombers for protection.


    I do however have a noobie question.:eek::eek:
    Is it possible to make larger flights with more then four squadrons?

    I click the merge button but nothing happens, is that supposed to happen?
     
    Joe likes this.
  3. Joe

    Joe Ace

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    124
    No, air units can only have four squadrons in them no matter what.

    2. TRADE

    As you can see, my production of rare materials is quite low.
    [​IMG]

    To trade, click the diplomacy window...
    [​IMG]

    All the nations are in the "All" tab, allied nations (U.K. and allies) in the "allied " tab, Commitern (Soviet Union and Allies) in the "Commitern" tab, and Axis (Germany and allies) in the "axis tab.
    Africa, Asia, Euope and America (North+South are included in this) contain the nations geographically in those continents.

    I want to trade with the Soviet Union, so I need to find them.
    [​IMG]

    Click "Offer trade agreement" and se the resources you want to trade. Moving the slide left is what you want them to give you, moving it right is what you will give them. The number at the bottom is the probablity the other country will accept.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266
    Thanks Joe.

    Nice tutorial you got going, I hope you will teach me a thing or two.:)

    With the trade don't forget to continually trade blueprints with your allies, but not the ones you plan to make war on.
     
  5. Mussolini

    Mussolini Gaming Guru WW2|ORG Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Messages:
    5,732
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    Festung Colorado
    Anyone here have HOI II Doomsday Armageddon v1.2 VBLV?

    Download XFire if you do and add PanzerPenguin and message me. Repulse and I have a game going and would love for more to join.
     
  6. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266
    There you go Joe, you just taught me something. I didn't know what the numbers on the researched item was, now I do.
     
  7. tikilal

    tikilal Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    66
    Air was nerfed with one of the updates, it used to be way powerful. It still helps alot and should not be neglected. It is never good to use only one unit in an area at a time. Fighters may be the exception. But 8 or more squadrons of attack planes can eliminate divisions quickly. (No you can ot have a group bigger than 4 but you can assigne two groups to the same area) They will need air cover or to have the enemy intercepters destroyed but you will see the difference. (sp)

    The most frustrating thing about airdrops is that you can not have more than 4 divisions in a group and you can not assign mupltiple groups to that particular mission in the same area, so the most you can land is 4, in order to have 4 divisions you need a General that can command 9 Divisions, what a waste.

    About promoting, if you turn on auto promote it doesnt take away a skill point but you can not determine who gets promoted. The biggest problem I ran into with this is that the old German generals get promoted and they are not good. So i wrote and event that gets rid of all the old school Generals (Hitler would not have opposed this) and This gets we pretty well qualified and skill full Generals. I have never had a General over skill 9.

    To get rid of partisans garrison troops with and MP add on do wonders. Gotta run more latter, would be nice to here from the originator to see how he is doing. Dont give up you can do it. :)
     
  8. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266
    I had Von Runstead up to 8 once, he was in alot of battles.

    The Garrison troops work the best except when you take russia, and then all you see is a depletion of your manpower, and there is no real way of getting it back as the Germans.
     
  9. Joe

    Joe Ace

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    124
    Von Kliest is skill 7, but I promoted him so now he's back to 6.
     
  10. tikilal

    tikilal Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    66
    Why are you loosing man power from Garrisions in Russia? I admit that Russia is huge and takes alot of units to conquer but the biggestproblem I have is logistics support in the form of overburdened supply system. Yet another reason to have a large IC, even if you dont need it.

    Explain the manpower more.
     
  11. tikilal

    tikilal Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    66
    Try the auto promote out. I think you will like it.
     
  12. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266

    Sorry, I didn't mean still losing, although I think weather does effect them. I meant the constant divisions that I needed to train.



    I needed a lot of manpower, in virtually every providence in Russia I needed a Garrison division with the MP attachments just to stop the partisans from rising, considering that they were effecting around 500 TC's, out of 1900.


    I also needed garrision units in Denmark, Norway, nearly all the lowcountries, France, the British Isle, Ireland, Greece, North India, andsome of Africa that the Italians let me have.


    This mixed with the continued war in India against the English, (the attack came straight down from the south of RUssia), the constant sea battle with the remaining allied vessels, and of course the training of new military units ran my manpower into the ground.




    If your TC's is overburdened you need more factories, or less men. ;)
     
  13. tikilal

    tikilal Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    66
    The probelem is that I have this addiction to armor. I usually have around 40 armored divisions along with 80 motorized or mechanized divisions. So you can see that I might have a small fuel problem.

    Not to mention my moderately sized air force. I will try and get the stats on the current game.

    Once upon a time I tried to take over the whole world before fighting Russia. Seriously I had almost all of France, Belgium, Holland, Africa, Spain, Italy, Greece, England. Mexico, and the US. All before I attacked Russia. Since then I have realized that most of those countries added nothing but took alot to keep. Now if playing as Germany I usually try to stay in Europe. I will send aid to africa from time to time but never conquer it.

    When fighting Russia I try to push to the Bitter Peace line as soon as possible usually around a year or two. With the BP event you can solve alot of the partisan issues as the territory becomes yours. Also I try to build up around 30 garrison divs and use them as the anvil for my hammer, I'll try and get some screen shots. I think I am going to have to srat another game.
     
  14. Joe

    Joe Ace

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    124
    Bitter peace line? Where's that? I've never actually invaded Russia before.
     
  15. tikilal

    tikilal Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    66
    There is an event that will trigger if you as Germany and Japan meet the condidtions. You or your ally have ot hold archangle, moscow, Stalingrad and a little further east. Then in the Asia area you have to have one or two territories...I would have to look at it again.

    Usually by the time you get to the bigger wavy boardered territories you have gone far enough and destroyed most of the red army. So i set up lines and camp out waiting for the Japanese to finish their part of just for the event.

    Here is the actual code for the event.

    ################################################## #######################
    # Sue for peace with the Germans (Japan wants a bigger slice)
    ################################################## #######################
    event = {
    id = 2645
    random = no
    country = SOV

    trigger = {
    war = { country = GER country = SOV }
    OR = {
    control = { province = 56 data = GER } # Paris is not free
    control = { province = 56 data = VIC } # Paris is not free
    }
    AND = {
    NOT = {
    war = { country = GER country = JAP }
    control = { province = 187 data = SOV } # Leningrad has fallen
    control = { province = 163 data = SOV } # Stalingrad has fallen
    control = { province = 175 data = SOV } # Moscow has fallen
    control = { province = 1907 data = SOV } # Baku has fallen
    }
    OR = {
    NOT = { control = { province = 1572 data = SOV } }# Sverdlovsk has fallen
    NOT = { control = { province = 1372 data = SOV } }# Vladivostok has fallen
    }
    }
    OR = {
    alliance = { country = GER country = JAP }
    war = { country = SOV country = JAP }
    }
    random = 35

    }
     
  16. tikilal

    tikilal Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    66
    Here are two screens from my current game. Not doing too well as conquering the world goes.[​IMG]

    Here is the army Stats.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. MastahCheef117

    MastahCheef117 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    17
    I don't have Hearts of Iron II or I, but I an DYING for Hearts of Iron III. But I THINK I can help you with one or two of your questions just through common sense or something :p

    Question 1. Cancel the older tank productions and begin producing the newer ones. Only produce small amounts, however. Don't get rid of any of the older tanks you have at the moment on the front lines, those are your experienced ones. Send the newer ones with some infantry, artillery/aerial or something, and send them against a very small, weak country. Test them against them and see the results. If they produce minimal casualties and easily crush the enemy, begin mass-producing the things, and once you have a formidable army of these things, begin to decommission (or anything close to that) the older tanks. Remember to keep your resources above a certain point (I always set a limit for myself- for example Empire:Total War- I never spend things in a single turn until I have less than 2,000 gold, then I stop and end the turn).

    Question 6. Again, I've never played any of these games before, but It's just some experience I have from other games, WWII and otherwise. You can do something against this, and I don't know how to. But a way to increase your income and economy is to initiate trade agreements (if you can in HoI2) or take over yet another smaller, weak country. It should increase your income, but believe me I don't know how to increase the income to normal in a newly-conquered nation.
     
  18. Rule303

    Rule303 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well done with all the info and help guys. This really is a tremendous and addictive game. I will have the internet back on at home soon so am looking forward to some player vs player games.

    I have been playing off and on for about 18 months with impatient but average abilities. Jealous of guys that do in weeks what it usually takes me months to do..ie own France etc.

    Anyway, at the Paradox forum this AAR was recommended "How the heck do you play this game?" Can anyone recommend a good tutorial AAR for a new player? - Paradox Interactive Forums and I can highly recommend it. I am actually progressing through the lessons in game and developing some nice finese along the way. This AAR has definitely made be a better player, and makes me feel like I could conquer the globe (quicker :D)

    SOAR, forgive me for telling you something you may already know but even with a limit on 4 squadrons per leader, if a leader of a particular group is able to command 16 squadrons, then 4 groups of 4 will benefit from his presence in the same provence.

    I say I figured you might know because I agree with what you posted about Naval organisation and leaders so you seemed to understand those mechanics.

    Cheers
     
  19. Totenkopf

    Totenkopf אוּרִיאֵל

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    89
    If you want to change the air stacks limit there is a way.
    If you have Armageddon: Go to Doomsday\db\misc and scroll down until you find "Maximum size of air stacks" change the number to whatever you like. (I did 16)
     
  20. Rule303

    Rule303 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    My biggest grip with air power other than the leader stack issue is the lack of focus of airpower.

    OK I can accept the multi-provence scouting about for enemies to shoot for fighters and interceptors (I'd still rather have a shift-key option if I want multi-provence) but I want my 4 x 4 squadrons of CAS or TAC to focus on one provence.

    I'm not expecting surgical strikes like bombs down elevator shafts, but I do expect them to pound that provence with 30 divisions in it. It's gotta be like shooting fish in a barrel. Missing by 100 yards ok but not by 100 miles:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page