Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

WW2 - what does it mean for us? (a book)

Discussion in 'WWII General' started by shortyafter, Dec 10, 2016.

Tags:
  1. shortyafter

shortyafter New Member

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie here at the forums. 25 years old. Growing up I was enthralled with WW2 history - played all kinds of games, watched the films, watched the movies, etc. Minored in history. I have kind of gotten away from all that in the last few years. However, a couple of weeks ago I decided to get back into it and picked up "The First World War" by Cyril Falls. Why not start with number 1? :D It was a bit of a tough read, and too much combat detail for me, but I enjoyed the experience.

So now I'm looking to dig into WW2. I understand that I would have to read dozens of books to even make a scratch on the topic. That said, I already know the general history pretty well. I'm looking for something that goes into the intricacies of the war. Like, WHY?? What was going on in society / civilization to lead to this? How did it affect the people/nations involved? How did it affect us? What implications does it have for the human race?

The conclusion of the Great War account I just read was that - A. the Great War did not pose a significant threat to civilization as we know it, and B. although plagued by nationalism and bigotry in some ways, it was generally fought in a gentlemanly manner. WW2, from my understanding, seems to contrast because - A. with nuclear weapons, this changed, and B. I see someone like Hitler differently than someone like the Keyser or Hindenburg.

I dunno, the last few years I've become less of an intellectual and more of a spiritual guy, more of an artist. The combat history doesn't fascinate me so much. I want to know, what do these things MEAN for the human race? What do they mean for our civilization? What do they mean for me in my day to day life?